TripAdvisor Testimonials — See what our guests are saying about their time aboard Tortuga

We love it when our guests take their bragging rights to pen & paper.  Even more when they give us a great review on TripAdvisor, Google or any other social forum.  It helps spread the word that the Tortuga Sailing Adventures crew is still the best out there.  So please, shout away!


Recommended for: Families with Teen Children, Sightseeing,  Girls Getaway,  Adventure Seekers,  Age 55+,  Romantic Getaway,  Families with Teenagers

A Trip Made in Heaven”
When we planned our trip to Key West, we expected the trip would be wonderful but it is truly a very special occurrence when a trip far surpasses your expectations. Our sailing charter with Tortuga Sailing Adventures truly was a trip of a lifetime. As my husband and I are not sailors, we could never hope to do such a trip on our own. Our sailing charter with Tortuga Sailing Adventures was amazing and was truly four days of heaven. 
It is incredible how amazing a simple sunrise and a sunset are when you are settled on a beautiful vessel in the cove of an uninhabited island with no one else in sight. How the stars truly do shine brighter and how the world seems to come to stop when you are curled up with the one you love on the trampoline of the Tortuga. How incredible it is to be lulled to sleep by the gentle rocking of the ocean waves. We saw so much in our time with Captain Rick and Cindy Lou during our travels to Boca Grande and the Marquesas. There is nothing more relaxing and peaceful than the wind in your hair and the smell of ocean air. We experienced snorkeling reefs, swimming with sharks and turtles, fishing, exploring beautiful uninhabited islands, dinghy rides through mangroves and island beach strolls. We were able to see incredible wildlife including a multitude of sea birds, dolphins, turtles, sharks, barracudas and more.
As amazing as all the experiences were, what truly made the trip remarkable were our exceptional hosts Captain Rick and Cindy Lou. They made sure everything was absolutely perfect. The Tortuga was pristine, the accommodations were very comfortable, the food was delicious and plentiful and the company was second to none. They are truly wonderful people who go out of their way to make your trip absolutely perfect. Thank you Captain Rick and Cindy Lou for a 50th birthday I will never forget!!!!! We will definitely be back!!!!  Jill and Dave, August 15, 2016

"...absolutely spoiled us!"

My husband and I were looking for something unique for a long weekend, Valentine trip. Tortuga Sailing was perfect! Captain Rick and Cindy tailored the trip just for us! We wanted/needed rest and relaxation - that is just what we got! Even with some questionable weather, we were able to anchor off shore overnight and experience the most amazing sunset show that looked like it was just for us! The next night, due to the weather, we returned to the Marina and were treated to a delicious meal in town. Being with Rick and Cindy, we were treated like just one of the locals in Key West! More sailing on our last day followed by a stroll down Duval Street...Rick and Cindy joined us again in town for our last night. The negatives? - WE MISS OUR NEW FRIENDS!! And we are finding it so hard to sleep in a bed that doesn't gently sway us to sleep! And I am finding it hard to make my own tea in the morning, not to mention I simply don't have the time to make 3 yummy meals a day! Cindy absolutely spoiled us! We will DEFINITELY return! Rick and Cindy are THE BEST!  Jessie U,TX February 20, 2016

quality family time aboard s/v tortuga

“Highlight of our trip!”  We had an amazing time on the Tortuga. If you are looking for a first class charter that has multiple activities for your family this is it. The thing is, it doesn't feel like your on a charter. Capt. Rick and Cindy Lou feel like old friends and will bend over backwards to make your trip a good time for everyone in your group. They are first class people that you will enjoy being around. This is a must do trip. If you are on the bubble about booking just do it. It will be something you remember far into the future! Reviewed July 20, 2015

What a FAB time!
We did a charter with Captain Rick and Cindy Lou and had a BLAST of a time. First Mate was terrific in coordinating whatever we wanted on-board and prepping everything and helping us all along with the gear, snorkel, etc. VERY friendly charter. Capt. Rick was a big hit with my son, letting him at the helm for about 30 minutes. I don’t remember the names of the reefs, but the entire trip was a success for us, and if you have the time, and you’ll be in the area....YOU HAVE TO CHARTER WITH TORTUGA SAILING ADVENTURES, CAPTAIN RICK AND CINDY LOU!
— Ali S, on August 1, 2014
fun fun fun...!
We had friends from out of the country, and Rick & Cindy made sure that we had a great time together. Highly recommended, thanks again Rick
— Dani T, May 2, 2013

Sunset at boca grande key

“Sailing the keys”  Its a 10! Best trip ever! Relaxing, beautiful trip with everything taken care of. This was our first trip.. We spent 5 nights, snorkeled, kayaked, fished, site seeing, and saw beautiful fish! Captain Rick and Cindy Lou were amazing and super fun! Highly recommend to all!  ~  Laura D, July 2016

uninhabited islands, comfortable yacht, happy people

“WOW what a mix of entertainment ”  Capt Rick and Cindy Lou have a truly unique offering that we advise you take advantage of if in the Keys. Besides both being genuinely great folks they have a way of making you feel welcome and relaxed from the get go. We did a full day charter and experienced snorkeling, dingy excursion, and also did some lobstering which was very exciting ( it happened to be mini lobster season). Besides the sailing, wildlife and many activities available Cindy put together an outstanding lunch and snacks. I don't want to overhype the food but it was the best lunch we had in Key West. So take your wife, significant other, family or another couple and charter these guys for a day, get away from the crazy side of the Keys you won't be disappointed. Reviewed July 31, 2015

“Totally about us”  We were heading down to Key West for the day and stumbled on the reviews for Tortuga Sailing. I have taken other snorkel tours and was looking for something low key. Judging the reviews, I thought this would be just right and was not disappointed. Cindy Lou and Rick made us feel more like family than paying customers and took great care of us. I will definitely be back. July 18, 2015

Overnight Adventure to the Marquesas...
Who knew that after traveling around the world, one of my best vacations would be in my own backyard. My overnight trip to the Marquesas with Tortuga Sailing Adventures, run by the very knowledgeable and fun Captain Rick and his delightful and capable first mate Cindy Lou, would be so much more than I ever imagined. Each morning I was greeted with delicious fresh fruits and cappucino. The day was followed by playful options: snorkeling, swimming, island exploring, riding in the dingy, kayaking, paddle boarding, relaxing on deck, or resting on the trampoline to catch some rays. The water in the Marquesas is outstanding, the colors ranging from emerald green, topaz blue, clear, sky blue, to teal and everything in between. You'll be amazed at the beauty of the environment, untouched and preserved. If you're into fishing, get a fishing license ahead of time but, don't worry...Captain Rick and Cindy Lou are extremely competent fishers and will make a fresh catch of the day for dinner on an overnight trip. Also, the Tortuga is pristine clean and well maintained. You will feel comfortable and at home on board because this vessel is truly ship-shape. Above all, you will savor the memory of this vacation like a great meal because it will be perfect. This IS the very BEST of KEY WEST! ~ Dianna S, 2014

DAYS OF OUR LIVES
The time we spent onboard Tortuga are some of the most memorable days we’ve spent on the water. The Manta 42 is such a comfortable catamaran. We loved the Sling Seat in the cockpit since it gave everyone a great view of what’s ahead while under sail. Also liked the hard top that gave us ample shade after a long day playing in the sun. Snorkeling the reefs were awesome! Captain Rick and First Mate Cindy are dialed in to all the cool spots in the Florida Keys and are true water people. Without a doubt we’ll be back down sailing onboard Tortuga again!
— Kevin W, June 30, 2013
It is what I would call a solid 5 star experience.  In other words, I give it a 11 out of 10. ~ Quentin
To have enjoyed this extraordinary natural beauty aboard Tortuga was both a treat and a privilege. She is a beautiful and exceedingly well-appointed yacht, solidly built, supremely comfortable above and below decks, and — perhaps most importantly — very well maintained. At the end of the day, however, a boat is just fiberglass, wood, plexiglass, engines, electronics, and other systems. It is the Captain and the First Mate who transformed our charter into a dream vacation. ~ Stacy M, 2013

Quality Family time expected

Fantastic Service!
We manage SleepAfloat houseboat rentals in the same marina as Tortuga Sailing Adventures. These are floating homes available for overnight accommodations that stay stationary at the docks. Many of our guests use Tortuga’s services for daily boat charters and absolutely love it! The staff is incredibly friendly and willing to please. We are happy to recommend Tortuga Sailing Adventures to all of our guests!
— SleepAfloat.com, May 22, 2013

A lobstering we go..

“Great Day on the Water”  My family had a great day of sailing with Capt Rick and Cindy Lou last week. The boat was very nice and well equipped with snorkel equipment, kayaks, boogie boards, lobstering equipment (Cindy Lou helped us catch a few)! We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Both Capt Rick and Cindy Lou were very nice and made us feel welcomed aboard their home. We look forward to returning to see them again on another trip soon.  LuLu ~ Aug 2015
“Hens and Husbands at sea” Reviewed August 11, 2014
The Hens are difficult to impress when it comes to adventure. How do you come up with an adventure to remember for people who have climbed pyramids, dove in the Red Sea and trekked New Zealand? Captain Rick and Cindy Lou did just that. Can't thank them enough for the efficient and relaxed experience. Plenty of fresh healthy food and refreshments, up to date and safe equipment and knowledge of local history. By the end of the day we were all sorry to say good bye. Felt like we were leaving old friends. Next time down I hope to do an overnight trip to the Marquesas. Until then, Jeanne and Dan Mackin

Click here to see Dan Mackin's amazing art 

This trip will be the highlight of your visit!
Capt Rick and First Mate Cindy operate an 5 star catamaran with impeccable service. We found Tortuga Sailing on TripAdvisor and booked it from the perfect reviews online. We have never made a better choice in experiences! Rick customized an entire 8 hour day for our family of five. Absolutely everything you could think of was prepared. We simply stepped on the boat and had the time of our lives.
— Frank N, July 1, 2013